Durex Deluxe Review

It’s high time for another condom review, and this time it’s going to be one of the new ones from Durex. This one is called Durex Deluxe.

Durex are clearly aiming this at the top end of the market, and it’s certainly there in terms of price. They claim that it is the “diamond standard” in thinness. Hopefully this doesn’t make you think of diamond cutting tools (not what you want to be thinking about to get you in the mood)… so let’s get down to business and see if the claim supports the reality.

Vital statistics.

It is a non-latex condom (good for those with latex allergies) and stretches differently than latex condoms so, although the dimensions (thanks to this condom size chart) seem large – 58mm wide at the base – they feel fairly normal in size when putting them on. They are lubricated with a mild and non-spermicidal lube.

The woman’s perspective.

I was keen to see whether I’d sense the claimed improved heat transfer but, before we even got into the action, I must say that I liked the packaging! The box opens from the top which made it easier to get the condom out, and once out of the box you find that it comes in a round plastic package rather than a foil wrapper. I liked this as, with foil wrappers, I sometimes feel that I’m going to rip the condom when I’m tearing the foil open. With this package you just peel back the lid and there it is. It might be fiddly if you already had lube (either human or from a bottle) on your fingers, but it would still be easier than opening one of the old foil wrappers in my opinion – I’ve had to resort to using teeth before! On putting the condom on my man it was obvious that these are much clearer than any other condoms we’ve used and as it stretched over the penis I could see the colour and detail of his penis clearly through the material. In use the condom was fine; it didn’t smell, had about the right amount of lube, and the condom stayed in place throughout. I can’t say that I could detect any improvement in heat transfer; perhaps others are more sensitive than me, but I certainly had no complaints. I’ve always felt that as long as my man is enjoying it he makes me enjoy it too, so I suppose the fact that my man seemed to be enjoying it is a good recommendation!

The man’s perspective.

She seemed to like being able to see my penis through the material of the condom, though I have to say that, being pasty skinned, this is a dubious advantage in my opinion. I didn’t notice any difference in ‘heat transfer’ though I do think it felt a little thinner than some other condoms. There was a bit more sensation for me which is the most important thing in my opinion so I like these condoms.

Safety.

It felt secure in use – my man let’s me know pretty quick if he thinks it’s uncomfortable or is going to break or slip off, and Durex meet and exceed all of the required safety test and certification so no complaints here.

Price.

They were pricey from most places and you may have to stump up around £2 per condom, though we found a good deal getting condoms online rather than from the high street.

Conclusion.

Whilst we can get these for a reasonable price we’ll be sticking with them, though if the current price that we’re getting changes then we may start experimenting with alternatives. For the moment though we really like these.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment